Lundi 30 mars 2015
The Castle of Montbrun
Castle of Montbrun The Castle of Montbrun, in the commune of Dournazac, came under the control of the Earldom of Poitou in the Middle Ages. It is next to a little river, the Dournajou, and next to Le Grand Puyconnieux, one of the highest points of the "Monts de Châlus". It was built in the late 12th century by Aymeric Brun, who also founded the Priory of Thavaud in 1180, several kilometres away.
The castle was burnt and ruined in 1385 and rebuilt in the 15th century in its current form by Pierre de Montbrun, Bishop of Limoges. Badly damaged again mainly by fire in 1917, it kept its four big towers, one of which is the "Grand Jacques", a superb quadrangular keep which is one of the finest examples of its kind.
A small distance away, the castle mound can be seen, which was the first primitive fortification in this place. Montbrun, reflected in its lake which acts as a moat, is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful and picturesque monuments in Limousin.